Main Page

About the Library


Library Mission Statement

The McFarland Library is committed to supporting the University’s academic mission, serving the SMSU community through efficient access to quality library services, relevant collections, research guidance, and information literacy training. -- Adopted May 2010

The Library Bill of Rights adopted by the American Library Association is a policy of McFarland Library:

I. Books and other library resources should be provided for the interest, information, and enlightenment of all people of the community the library serves. Materials should not be excluded because of the origin, background, or views of those contributing to their creation.

II. Libraries should provide materials and information presenting all points of view on current and historical issues. Materials should not be proscribed or removed because of partisan or doctrinal disapproval.

III. Libraries should challenge censorship in the fulfillment of their responsibility to provide information and enlightenment.

IV. Libraries should cooperate with all persons and groups concerned with resisting abridgment of free expression and free access to ideas.

V. A person’s right to use a library should not be denied or abridged because of origin, age, background, or views.

VI. Libraries that make exhibit spaces and meeting rooms available to the public they serve should make such facilities available on an equitable basis, regardless of the beliefs or affiliations of individuals or groups requesting their use.

The McFarland Library faculty as members of the American Library Association adhere to the profession's Code of Ethics.

Library Services Contact Information


Floor Maps and Photographs

Library Policies

Rooms Available

Media Equipment Available

Circulation Services

Donations to the Library

Student Employment Application

Community Users

Additional Services




Southwest Minnesota State University

1501 State St. Marshall, MN 56258
2016 © Southwest Minnesota State University


We are an affirmative action / equal opportunity university.
Southwest Minnesota State University is a member of the Minnesota State system.