weather conditions


Hi: 35° | Lo: 29°


SMSU Athletics announces 2017 Hall of Honor induction class

Posted for Monday, January 9, 2017

Southwest Minnesota State University Athletics has announced that six individuals have been selected for induction into the SMSU Athletics Hall of Honor on Saturday, Jan. 28, 2017.

The Athletics Hall of Honor is the highest athletic distinction awarded by the University. The newest Athletics Hall of Honor members are former women's basketball player Michelle Bruns (2001-05); football player Greg Delaine (1988-91); tennis player Martha Garzon (1989-92); swimmer Tom Moehn (1972-76); swimming & diving coach Con Eckstrom (1970-80); and community member and supporter of SMSU athletics Tim Moberg. Complete bios and photos of the inductees will be released next month.

The Athletics Hall of Honor banquet, which will be held at the SMSU Upper Level Conference Center, will begin at 11:30 a.m. with a half-hour social, followed by lunch and the induction ceremonies beginning at 12 p.m. Tickets for the ceremony are $15 and include lunch prior to the ceremony. To reserve tickets for the ceremony, please contact Melissa at or 507-537-7271. A 12-member committee chose the inductees from a group of nominations. The new inductees bring the membership in SMSU's Athletic Hall of Honor to 91 individuals/couples and 12 teams. The Athletics Hall of Honor is displayed in the lobby of the R/A Facility. To view the Athletics Hall of Honor, go to
— Kelly Loft


Mustangs Making a Difference

Course Connects Students With Community Members

Course Connects Students With Community...

A new fall semester course helped students reach out to community members in a number of ways.

Feature Articles

Dallin Finley Has Made an Impact at SMSU

Dallin Finley Has Made an Impact at SMSU

Dallin Finley is a leader inside the classroom, and out, at SMSU.

President Connie J. Gores

President Gores, 3 Other Female Presidents Co-author Editorial in...

SMSU President Dr. Connie J. Gores has co-authored an editorial in the most recent edition of The Chronicle of Higher Education.

Davontay Stevens joins Katelyn Tamm and Emily Bruflat in the Office of Admission

Trio of New Faces in Office of Admission

Katelyn Tamm, Emily Bruflat and Davantay Stevens have joined the Office of Admission team at SMSU.

Featured Events Calendar

SMSU Photos

YouTube Videos

A member of the Minnesota State system

1501 State St. Marshall, MN 56258

2017 © Southwest Minnesota State University