SMSU Athletics announces 2019 Hall of Honor inductees

Posted from Monday, October 22, 2018 through Saturday, February 02, 2019

Southwest Minnesota State University Athletics has announced that eight individuals and two teams have been selected for induction into the SMSU Athletics Hall of Honor on Saturday, Feb. 2, 2019. The Athletics Hall of Honor is the highest athletic distinction awarded by the University.

The newest Athletics Hall of Honor members are former women’s golfer and basketball player Erin (Oakland) Dauwalter (2003-07); baseball player Mark Lickfelt (1995-98); wrestler Leon Bullerman (1989-91); swimmer Dave Broyles (1971-75); men’s basketball player Scott Koenen (1998-2001); men’s basketball player Chad Koenen (1998-2002); and community members and supporters of SMSU athletics Kevin and Karla Anundson. Also inducted will be the 1993 and 1994 softball teams that both finished undefeated in conference play.

Complete bios of the inductees will be released at a later time. The Athletics Hall of Honor banquet, which will be held at the SMSU Upper Level Conference Center, will begin at 11 a.m. with a half-hour social, followed by lunch and the induction ceremonies beginning at 11:30 a.m. Ticket information will be announced in early January.

A 12-member committee chose the inductees from a group of nominations. The new inductees bring the membership in SMSU's Athletic Hall of Honor to 98 individuals/couples and 14 teams. The Athletics Hall of Honor is displayed in the lobby of the R/A Facility. To view the Athletics Hall of Honor, go to

— Kelly Loft

Category: Attention