Skip to content
Search Icon

Safety Committee

Southwest Minnesota State University has established, and will maintain, a joint labor/management safety committee with management commitment, support and involvement. The committee is comprised of the Safety Director who serves  as chairperson and a minimum of five representatives of bargaining units appointed by their union per contract language (if applicable), and administrative staff appointed by the President.

PURPOSE: To improve operational effectiveness and reduce costs by supporting a safe environment for all faculty, employees, students, visitors and contractors through education, compliance and injury reduction programs. This Safety Committee was formed to support and improve the campus safety program. Its function is to involve labor and management in a non-adversarial, cooperative effort, ultimately leading to reduced accidents and injuries for faculty, staff and students. It will review incidents and safety concerns and make suggestions for either engineering control changes or process changes to promote a safe work environment . 

The Safety Chairperson will ensure that the committee holds meetings not less than quarterly. If you are interested in becoming a committee member contact Dave Hemp (507-537-6470;  

Last Modified: 7/19/22 11:41 AM | Website Feedback