Skip to content
Search Icon

5 Provost Finalists Named at SMSU

Published Tuesday, March 24, 2015

Five finalists have been named for the position of Provost/Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs at Southwest Minnesota State University.

The Provost/Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs serves as the chief academic and student affairs officer at the university and, as such, provides leadership for the planning and administration of all academic and student affairs programs, personnel, and services; the development of sound academic programs and faculty scholarship; and the oversight of all educational policies.

The five, and their on-campus interview dates, are:

  • April 2-3: Dr. Ronald Bulbulian, former Founding Dean, School of Science and Technology at Nazarbayev University; Astana, Republic of Kazakhstan.
  • April 7-8: Dr. Dwight C. Watson, Dean, College of Education, University of Northern Iowa; Cedar Falls, Iowa.
  • April 9-10: Dr. Robert H. Ducoffe, Dean, Judd Leighton School of Business and Economics, Indiana University South Bend; South Bend, Ind.
  • April 15-16: Dr. Thomas J. Tauer, Associate Provost and Dean of University College, East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania; East Stroudsburg, Penn.
  • April 20-21: Dr. Jerry D. Jorgensen, Provost and Senior Vice President, Park University; Parkville, Mo.

Questions regarding the hiring process should be directed to Deb Almer, Director of Human Resources, at 507.537.6243;

SMSU is a liberal arts institution of 3,500 students located in Marshall, Minn. Its mission is to prepare students to meet the complex challenges of this century as engaged citizens in their local and global communities. The university’s comprehensive degree programs, taught in the liberal arts tradition, are dedicated to connecting students’ academic and practical professional development experiences in southwestern Minnesota to the wider world.

Related Articles