Skip to content
Search Icon

MARL Class IX Selected

Published Thursday, June 30, 2016

MARL Executive Director Olga Reuvekamp
MARL Executive Director Olga Reuvekamp

Thirty individuals have been selected to participate in the Minnesota Agriculture and Rural Leadership Program, Class IX.

MARL is a dynamic two-year educational experience featuring nine, three-day in-state seminars, a six-day national study seminar and a two-week international study seminar.

Each class is comprised of 30 participants. Two thirds are agricultural producers and the other third are people involved in agribusiness or rural leadership positions.

“The quality of applicants to the MARL Program continues to be high,” said Executive Director Olga Reuvekamp. “The board had a very difficult task in selecting MARL Class IX participants,” she said. “The program really develops the leadership qualities of the participants, and these are the individuals who are making a difference in agriculture today.”

Outgoing MARL Board Chair Cam Fanfulik said the program is important to agriculture’s future in the state. “It is well known that agriculture and rural Minnesota face multiple challenges, and it’s vitally important that we invest in ourselves to effectively meet these tests.

“As the demographics change, we need to ask: ‘Who will be our new leaders? Who will provide that strong rural voice? What will the future of rural Minnesota look like?’ MARL addresses those questions through its stated mission: Develop those necessary skills so that ag and rural leaders can maximize their impact across the local, state, national and international arenas.”

The MARL calendar is designed to accommodate the busy schedules of participants, with most activities occurring over the winter months. MARL Class IX will first meet in November 2016.

The following 30 candidates have been selected for MARL Class IX:

• Josh Betcher, Mazeppa

• Greg Bohrer, Minneapolis

• Mary Kay Delvo, Fridley

• Russell Derickson, Lamberton

• Sarah Dornink, Falcon Heights

• Mark Enninga, Rochester

• Jason Garms, Maplewood

• Lisa Gjersvik, Alden

• Angela Guentzel, Kasota

• Steve Hoffman, New Ulm

• Sierra Kanten, Milan

• Brent Krohn, Nicollet

• Christian Lilienthal, Arlington

• Jill Manthei, Mapleton

• Loren Molenaar, Raymond

• Natasha Mortenson, Danvers

• Chris Motteberg, Fertile

• Bradley Neumann, Wabasso

• Darren Newville, Perham

• Patrick O'Connor, Blooming Prairie

• Heidi Peterson, Stillwater

• Ashley Schmeling, Blooming Prairie

• Katie Schneider, Delano

• Adam Stratton, Grand Forks

• Jasmine Stringer, Blue Earth

• Joel Talsma, Edgerton

• Adam Ulbricht, Melrose

• Pauline Van Nurden, Sunburg

• Ryan Wendland, Marshall

• Paul Wright, Hutchinson


Related Articles