Skip to main content
Search Icon

Cowan Award Nominations 2021

Posted from Monday, February 01, 2021 through Monday, March 15, 2021

The Cowan Award Nomination Form for 2021 is now available on the Academic Deans’ Office web page at: or in the Academic Deans’ Office in BA 268.

Dr. Cathy Cowan served as Psychology professor at SMSU from 1989 until her untimely death in December 2001. During her time at SMSU, Cathy served as Chairperson of the Social Science Department and was active in SmSUFA (IFO Union). Cathy also served the community and was known for her work ethic and “doing good for others." After her untimely death in an auto accident, the SMSU community sought a way to honor Dr. Cowan’s outstanding service to the University and the region. The Cowan Award was thus created. The award is presented each year during Commencement to an individual of the SMSU community who represents the many special qualities of Dr. Cowan.
Nominations for this award may come from students, faculty, staff, administrators, and members of the local or regional community. Nominees must be a current SMSU employee with a minimum of five years of service to SMSU. Self-nominations or anonymous nominations are not accepted. Previous nominees are eligible for re-nomination; however, previous recipients cannot be re-nominated. Questions regarding nomination or the award process can be directed to Dr. Pat Brace, Cowan Award Committee at: Email: or phone: 507-537-7456.

Completed applications are due in the Academic Deans’ Office by 4:30 PM on MONDAY, MARCH 15, 2021.

— Pat Brace

Category: Attention