Skip to content
Search Icon

SMSU Students to Present Research at Undergraduate Scholars Event

Published Wednesday, February 25, 2015

Five students from Southwest Minnesota State University will present their work at the second annual poster presentations at the Minnesota Undergraduate Scholars on Thursday, Feb. 26.

The multi-disciplinary poster presentations will be held in Conference Room B at the Veterans Service Building on the State Capitol grounds in St. Paul from 2-4 p.m.

Minnesota Undergraduate Scholars is a consortium of Minnesota State Colleges and Universities institutions that support research, scholarly works and creative activity of undergraduates. The poster session will allow undergraduate students to share the results of their work with leaders in state government and highlights the work being done on MnSCU campuses throughout the state.

Students representing Southwest Minnesota State University include:

  • Annette T. Carr, a senior from Marshall, Minn. “Case Study: Ankle-brachial Index in Postural Orthostatic Tachycardia Syndrome (POTS).” Faculty Advisor: Dr. Jeffrey W. Bell, Exercise Science.
  • Mark Jankowski,  a December 2014 graduate from Forest Lake, Minn. “Detecting Faces with Missing Features.” Faculty Advisor: Dr. Scott Peterson, Psychology.
  • Samantha Ritter, a senior from Sauk Centre, Minn. “Evaluation of the Intrinsic Surface Charge of a Layered Silicate Soil.” Faculty Advisors: Dr. Frank Schindler, Chemistry; Dr. Emily Deaver and Dr. Thomas Dilley, Environmental Science.
  • Garrett Conn, a senior from Hutchinson, Minn., and Chris Ampe, a senior from St. Cloud, Minn. “The Effects of Teleoanticipation on Power in Powerlifters.” Faculty Advisor: Dr. Jeffrey W. Bell, Exercise Science.

SMSU students will join participating campuses including: Metropolitan State University; Minnesota State University, Mankato; Minnesota State University, Moorhead; St. Cloud State University; Bemidji State University; Winona State University; Rochester Community and Technical College; Inver Hills Community College; and Minneapolis Community and Technical College.

For more information contact Dr. Emily Deaver, (507) 537-6171;

Related Articles