Skip to main content
Search Icon

Fine Arts and Communication Dept.

art music speech radio tv theatre

Mission Statement

The Department of Fine Arts and Communication offers undergraduate programs in Art, Music, Speech Communication and Theatre.  The multi-disciplinary nature of the department allows for individual as well as collaborative educational initiatives.  Each program provides students with theoretical foundations, practical experience and skills in both Liberal Education Program (LEP) and major-specific courses, preparing them for careers, leadership and citizenship in the fine arts and communication fields.  Through their professional practice, faculty model artistic output, creative activity and scholarly pursuit which allow them to create an environment in which students experience first-hand practice of academic disciplines.  The department offers all members of the university and local communities with opportunities to engage in creative activities through performance and exhibition.  These same activities provide cultural enrichment for local, regional and national audiences. 

Southwest Minnesota State students taking courses within this department are able to major in the following areas:

  • Art
  • Graphic Design
  • Art Education
  • Music
  • Music (with Emphasis in Management)
  • Music Education
  • Communication Studies
  • Public Relations
  • Radio/TV
  • Communication Arts and Literature/Secondary Education, Speech Communication Emphasis
  • Theatre Arts

Minors are available in:

  • Advertising Design Communication
  • Graphic Design
  • Studio Art
  • Music
  • Communication
  • Communication/Theatre Arts
  • Public Relations
  • Theatre Arts

To learn more about each of these areas please link to specific subject area in which you are interested.

Department Information

The department of Fine Arts and Communication includes the Art, Music, Communication Studies and Theatre programs.  The department chair is Dr. John Ginocchio. 

Fine Arts and Communication
FA 207
Southwest Minnesota State University
1501 State Street * Marshall, MN. 56258
Office:  (507) 537-7103

Last Modified: 2/24/21 2:40 PM