weather conditions


Hi: 48° | Lo: 32°

70% chance of precipitation


Five Receive Tolk Scholarships

Posted for Thursday, February 11, 2016

Five Southwest Minnesota State University students were awarded LeAnn C. Tolk Scholarships at the recent Foundation Scholarship Recognition Luncheon.

LeAnn C. Tolk Scholarships of $5,000 each were awarded to one current freshman, two sophomore and two juniors. The scholarships recognize outstanding students who combine academic achievement, participation in campus and community activities and a strong work ethic. Additional consideration was also given to those who are first generation college students and/or have overcome extraordinary personal, financial or academic challenges. Over 30 students were nominated by SMSU faculty and staff.

  The scholarships are made possible by the late, LeAnn C. Tolk of Lake City, Minn. She was born in Hendricks, Minn., and raised in Elkton, S.D. She worked at 3M following high school, until her retirement at age 61. She wanted to support students from rural communities and give them the opportunity to receive a college education.

This year’s recipients include:

• Haiat Nur, freshman, Marshall, Minn.

• Steven Yang, sophomore, Walnut Grove, Minn.

• Samantha Pardy, sophomore, Madison, S.D.

• Taylor Schreier, junior, Currie, Minn.

• Amy Thomas, junior, Ghent, Minn.

     Five Southwest Minnesota State University students spoke during the luncheon about how important scholarships have been during their academic careers. Their remarks were deeply personal and were appreciated by the 250 individuals who were in attendance at the luncheon.

     Student speakers included Samantha Pardy, sophomore, Madison, S.D.; Davontay Stevens, senior, Jacksonville, Fla.; Paige Yi, junior, Algona, Iowa; Zach Specht, senior, Marcus, Iowa; and Mu Mu Aye, sophomore, Marshall, Minn.

 SMSU President Dr. Connie J. Gores wrapped up the program by pointing out how important scholarships are to the success of SMSU students and thanked donors for contributing to the Foundation, which raised over $3 million last year in support of scholarships and program support. 



Mustangs Making a Difference

Ben Nwachukwu, Staff Assist Entire Campus

Ben Nwachukwu, Staff Assist Entire...

Ben Nwachukwu and his Technology Resource Center staff assist all areas of the University

Feature Articles

Pat Carmody

Pat Carmody is Cowan Award Winner

Registrar Pat Carmody is the 2017 Cowain Award Winner, and will receive a special medal during Commencement exercises May 6.

Dene Kay Thomas is Commencement Speaker

Dene Kay Thomas is Commencement Speaker

Dr. Dene Kay Thomas, president of Fort Lewis College and an SMSU alumna, is this year's Commencement speaker

Phil Dacey

Dacey and Dangel to be Remembered at Memorial...

The poetry of Philip Dacey and Leo Dangel will be celebrated at a memorial reading April 29 in the Conference Center Ballroom.

Featured Events Calendar

SMSU Photos

YouTube Videos

A member of the Minnesota State system

1501 State St. Marshall, MN 56258

2017 © Southwest Minnesota State University