Skip to content
Search Icon

Student Marshals Chosen for Commencement 2024

Published Friday, May 03, 2024

Heather Arlen, Dr. Ross Wastvedt, and Brenna Springborg (not pictured, Madelyne Bulow)
Heather Arlen, Dr. Ross Wastvedt, and Brenna Springborg (not pictured, Madelyne Bulow)

SMSU Provost, Dr. Ross Wastvedt, announced the names of three students chosen to serve as 2024 Student Commencement Marshals. They are Heather Arlen, Madelyn Bulow, and Brenna Springborg.

This is the first year the Commencement Committee, chaired by Provost Wastvedt, invited faculty and staff to nominate outstanding juniors for this recognition. Letters of nomination identified a candidate’s outstanding academic achievement and contribution to SMSU. 

The 2024 Student Commencement Marshals:
Heather Arlen, a junior from Antigo, Wisc. She is a Sports Management major with minors in Sports Psychology, Coaching, and Strength and Conditioning. Heather was nominated by Marty Wahle, head coach of the SMSU women’s swimming and diving team.
After learning that my coach nominated me, it made me feel honored and valued as not only a leader on my team but also on campus,” said Heather. “Everyone that has been a part of my journey has helped me become a better version of myself.”  
Madelyne Bulow, a junior online student from Mantorville, Minn. She is majoring in English: Literature and minoring in Management. She was nominated by Dr. Maria Kingsbury, Professor of Library. Madelyne’s letter of nomination noted that she “represents the spirit of service and community-building that SMSU fosters.”
“Being nominated and chosen for this is truly an honor,” said Madelyne. “I have never received an academic award as an online student, which makes it all the more special to me.”
Brenna Springborg, a junior from Marshall, Minn. She is majoring in Communication Studies and completing a minor in Health Communications. Brenna was nominated by Communications Studies Professor Mark Fokken.
“It is really exciting to be among the first students chosen for this recognition,” said Brenna. “I’m glad I am part of a new tradition at SMSU that honors our students and their dedication to their education.”

Student Commencement Marshals receive a formal certificate signed by President Kumara Jayasuriya and Provost Ross Wastvedt, and a commemorative lapel pin. They also receive a complimentary cap and gown rental for their commencement in 2025.

The Student Marshals will assist with welcoming guests to the R/A Facility for SMSU’s 56th commencement ceremony on Saturday, May 4, 2024.

Congratulations to the three students chosen as the first to be given this special honor recognizing their academic achievement and campus leadership.

Related Articles