Skip to content
Search Icon

Liberal Education Committee

The Liberal Education Committee (LEC) is charged with the oversight of the SMSU Liberal Education Program (LEP) and associated Minnesota Transfer Curriculum (MnTC). The purpose of the committee is to review courses and activities in order to ensure that the philosophy and structure of the LEP is maintained. Specific responsibilities include the following:

  1. Review of Goal designation proposals for the LEP/MnTC. The LEC will review proposals and forward them to the Curriculum Committee with recommendations.
  2. Review of student petitions related to the LEP. The LEC will review petitions and forward them to the appropriate Dean with recommendations.
  3. Preparation of curriculum proposals for LEP courses. The LEC will prepare curriculum proposals of major significance and less than major significance as needed for courses in the LEP. Proposals will be forwarded to the Curriculum Committee with recommendations.
  4. Implementation of curricular and co-curricular activities that foster achievement of the LEP outcomes throughout a student’s educational experience.
  5. Assessment and assessment planning for the Learning Outcomes of the LEP. Communicate and collaborate with university administration, faculty, and staff on all aspects of curriculum, assessment, advising, and co-curricular activities that relate to the LEP.

Membership 2022-2023:

1. One faculty Co-Chair with a three-year term

  • Ben Walker (2021-2024)
2. One administrative Co-Chair at the level of Assistant Dean or above
  • Open
3. Three faculty members from the College of Arts, Letters, and Sciences.
  • Sami Shahin (2021-2023)
  • Brett Gaul (2021-2023)
  • Pam Gladis (2022-2024)
4. One faculty member from the College of Business, Education, and Professional Studies.
  • Frankie Albitz (2021-2023)
5. One member from the McFarland Library.
  • Open
6. One member from MSUAASF.
  • Michael Kurowski (2021-2023)
7. One member from the Academic Success Program.
  •  Open
8. The HLC/Assessment Coordinator (ex officio, non-voting)
  • Open
9. The Vice President of Student Affairs or designee (non-voting)
  • Ross Wastvedt

Last Modified: 4/18/23 3:21 PM | Website Feedback