Skip to main content
Search Icon

Theatre News

Scholarship recipients 2018 

2017-2018 Scholarship Recipients

Front Row: Jenna Miller (Bill and Norma Hezlep Award); Cat Schmidt (Gala Fine Arts-Theatre Scholarship)

Back Row: Sariah Cheadle (Gala Fine Arts-Theatre Scholarship); Avianna McFarquhar (Gala Fine Arts-Theatre Scholarship and SMSU Theatre Scholarship); Jordan Stangeland (SMSU Theatre Scholarship); Paul Ragan (SMSU Theatre Alpha Psi Omega Scholarship)



2016 - 2017 Scholarship Recipients

Front Row: Cat Schmidt (Gala Fine Arts Scholarship), Jenna Miller (Gala Fine Arts Scholarship)
Back Row: Wyatt Albers (SMSU Theatre Scholarship), Emilie Baartman (William and Normal Hezlep Award), Morgan Benson (Gala Fine Arts Scholarship)

Scholarship Recipients 2016
2015-2016 Scholarship Recipients
Front Row: Kyle Havlicek (Hezlep Award); Turi Jystad (Hezlep Award)
Back Row: Lindsey Brace (SMSU Theatre Scholarship);
Emilie Baartman (Alpha Psi Omega Scholarship and University Gala Scholarship):
Morgan Benson (University Gala Scholarship); Jacob Fager (University Gala Scholarship)


Scholarships 2015

2014-15 Theatre Scholarship Recipients include:
Front Row: Turi Jystad (SMSU Theatre Scholarship) and Emilie Baartman (Gala Ball Scholarship)
Back Row: Alexander Pikala (Norma Hezlep Award), Joel Gay (SMSU Theatre Scholarship), and
Kyle Havlicek (Alpha Psi Omega Scholarship and Gala Ball Scholarship)

Congratulations to Tony Falk and his scene partner, Callie Frank.
They have advanced to the finals of the Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship.

Congratulations to the SMSU Theatre Program on the following
Meritorious Awards at KCACTF in Minneapolis!

"The Heiress"-Costume Design

"The Comedy of Errors"-Costume Design

"The Comedy of Errors"-Ensemble Acting

"The Comedy of Errors"-Creative Execution of a Concept"
Home Ec Club
Southwest Minnesota Home Economists visited the SMSU Theatre on October 28, 2014.
Current SMSU Student Anna Eben was in Minneapolis running wardrobe for the National Tour of
Jekyll and Hyde!!  Way to go!!
Anna Eben
“Though we be but little, we are fierce!”
  -William Shakespeare, A Midsummer Night's Dream

 Red Dress worn in London production Paris Gown worn in London production

Red Dress

Paris Gown

The red dress and peach dress seen above were sent to London to be used in the New Stagers production of the same play, The Heiress
Top photos are from the London production, with Joanna Dodd in the role of Catherine Sloper.
Bottom photos are from the SMSU production.  Callie Frank played the role of Catherine Sloper with Professor Nadine Schmidt as her Aunt Lavinia. 
Read all about it on SMSU Today, in the Star Tribune and on the New Stagers website.

SMSU Today

Star Tribune

New Stagers

MacGyver Recipients
MacGyver Award Recipients
Breezer Helmer, Lynn Lafky, and Sara Mills pose with Prof. J.D. Sargent

Anna Eben, Abby Reichmuth, Jessa Roberts, Sara Mills and Kerry Billings wear dresses they made for the event (and class).  Way to go, ladies!

Our Theatre Seniors include (front row) Jessa Roberts, Sara Mills, Em Woodrow and Lynn Lafky.  Back row: Ryan Risa, Alex Pikala, Tony Falk and Andy Kompelien

Scholarship Winners
Scholarship Recipients for 2014-2015
(front row) Callie Frank, Anna Eben and Turi Jystad (Alpha Psi Omega Scholarship)
(back row) Jessa Roberts (William and Norma Hezelp Award), Tony Falk, Alex Pikala, Em Woodrow

Tony Falk and (scene partner) Andy Kompelien advance to the Semi-Finals
for the Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship .

Take your seat! Be a part of the Curtains Up! campaign.


NBS Header
Jacob and Jodie Forstein
Jacob  & Jodie Forstein
Jacob Forstein (former SMSU Theatre student) and Jodie Stensrud (SMSU Alum) were married in the SMSU Theatre on August 10, 2013.
This is the first event in the recently renovated theatre (new seats and new carpet).
Jacob and Jodie met in the space when he was serving as Master Electrician and Jodie was on the Lighting Crew for Intro to Theatre.
Introducing Our New Seats

Old Green Seats

 No Seats

New Seats


Stripping the paint.

The paint is stripped.

Our new floor!

Theatre Arts Program:

The Theatre Arts Program provides a curriculum for the student interested in working in the professional theatre, attending theatre graduate school, or teaching theatre.

A major in theatre offers the student a comprehensive understanding of the theatre arts with the opportunity to specialize in acting, directing, designing, costuming, playwriting or teaching. The program emphasizes student initiative, creativity and responsible involvement. Classes are structured to provide a solid philosophical and practical approach to theatre.

The Theatre and Speech Communication Programs also offer combination majors and minors which include Radio and TV, Secondary Education, and Speech and Theatre.

Help Support the SMSU Theatre Program: 

Your generous support can help with the advancement of the SMSU Theatre Program. Join our Friends of the Theatre Program and receive different ticket packages and other offers while supporting the SMSU Theatre Program with a generous donation!

Corporations are also welcome to sponsor part of the SMSU Theatre Season, if you or your business is interested, please contact Diana Holmes at (507) 537-7103.

Click here for more information...

    Find us on Facebook

Student Referral Header

Last Modified: 12/29/20 11:13 AM | Website Feedback