Skip to content
Search Icon

Social Science Department


Our Faculty/Staff

Bottom Row L-R: Dawn Bahn (Administrative Assistant), Nicole Deprez (adjunct) BC Franson (Justice Administration), Benjamin Anderson (Psychology), Corey Butler (Psychology) Second Row L-R: Jim Smalley (Social Work), Amber Kinner-Alahakoon (Social Work), Laura Koenig (Psychology), Christine Olson (Psychology), Michael Hofstetter (History), Titeonna Pickford (Student Worker) Top Row L-R: David Sturrock (Political Science), Cindy Aamlid (Sociology), Amanda Sieling (Justice Administration), Jeff Kolnick (History), Scott Peterson (Psychology), Anthony Amato (Geography)

Not pictured: Tom Williford (History & Dept. Chair), Vicky Brockman (Sociology), James Guerramt (Social Work), Darren Renville (Indigenous Nations & Dakota Studies), Thomas Murphy (Anthropology), Nan Askeland (Social Work Director of Field Education) Laura Mueller-Anderson (Social Work), Kenny Dodson (Social Work), Gayle Chandler (Social Work), Nicole Sobolik (Social Work), Sara Fier (Psychology), Linda Pesch (Psychology), Nik Proehl (Sociology), Charles Stockner (Sociology), Rochelle Peterson (Sociology), Molly Simon (Political Science)

Mission Statement

The mission of the Department of Social Science is to educate students at the undergraduate level in the programs of Anthropology, History, Indigenous Nations and Dakota Studies, Justice Administration, Political Science, Psychology, Social Work, and Sociology. Being a diverse group of disciplines, we believe that it is important to promote both theoretical and practical knowledge in our various fields. Our common focus is the study of people in terms of their individual lives, their history and culture, and the social-structures in which they live. As sciences, we believe that critical thinking and a high regard for evidence are essential for achieving progress in our fields. Finally, we believe that all of our disciplines are grounded in the liberal arts, and that the core skills of reading, thinking, speaking, and writing are the best way of developing knowledgeable and enlightened citizens for our future.

Come visit us!

The Department of Social Science has relocated to the Charter Hall Building (CH). Our main office is on the first floor, in CH 129. Located in the Charter Hall Building are classrooms, faculty offices, the Social Science research computer lab, student study areas, and club rooms. Our Museum of Indigenous Americans will open at a later date in the Science and Math building.

Please contact the Social Science Department with any questions you may have at 507-537-6224 or by email at


Last Modified: 1/25/24 3:33 PM | Website Feedback