Skip to main content
Search Icon

Academic Deans' Office

The Academic Deans' Office oversees the operation of the academic departments, student grade appeals, academic appeals, academic dishonesty appeals, and the academic Deans' List.  The Academic Deans' Office is a resource for students and others who have questions or concerns about academic issues.

Dr. Aimee Shouse

College of Arts, Letters, and Sciences

Dr. Aimee Shouse is the Dean of the College of Arts, Letters, and Sciences.  The College is home to 5 academic departments, including English, Philosophy, Spanish, and the Humanities; Fine Arts and Communication; Mathematics and Computer Science; Science; and Social Sciences.  The Honors Program and the McFarland Library are also housed in the College of Arts, Letters, and Sciences (ALS).  The majority of the SMSU Liberal Education Program and Minnesota Transfer courses come from programs in Arts, Letters, and Sciences, providing SMSU students with a broad foundation to their university education, in the tradition of the liberal arts.

Office: BA 262 | Phone: 507.537.6251 | Email:

Dean Raphael Onyeaghala

College of Business, Education, and Professional Studies

Dr. Raphael Onyeaghala is the Dean of the College of Business, Education, Graduate, and Professional Studies.  The College houses a variety of programs through four schools - School of Business and Public Affairs, School of Education, School of Agriculture, and the School of Graduate Studies.  Departments in these schools are: Accounting, Agriculture and Applied Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing,  Political Science and Education.  The College also houses the Department of Culinology ® and Hospitality Management and the Department of Nursing. The College offers the following graduate programs: Master of Business Administration (MBA) and Master of Science in Education (on-campus and off-campus), Physical Education - Coaching of Sports, Special Education and Administrative Licensure.  Dr. Onyeaghala also serves as the Dean of Graduate Studies, the Dean of Extended Learning and Academic Outreach, and the Director of Summer Sessions.   
Office: BA 263 | Phone: 507.537.6251 | Fax: 507.537.6472 | Email:


Southwest Minnesota State University

Opening Week Schedule

August 19 – 23, 2019

Monday, August 19
8:45 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. New Faculty Orientation
   ** See separate New Faculty Orientation schedule**
2:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. All-Chairs Meeting
SC 207   
5:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m. SMSU Family Picnic
Upper Level Student Center.


Tuesday, August 20
8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.   Professional Development Day
SMSU Conference Center
  **See separate 2019 Professional Development Day schedule for details**
5:30 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.  Welcome Reception & Dinner for Taiwanese Students
SMSU Conference Center Lower Level


Wednesday, August 21
8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m. Department Meetings
Location and times determined by the Department.
10:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. Active Learning Certification Workshop
CH 104 (pre-register with Kate Borowske)
1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m.  Come on and Zoom!” Technology Updates for the Classroom
CH 104
2:20 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.  Advising Prep/Information
Updates and information for Advisors
Whipple Gallery BA 291
2:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. New Student Registration/Advising
Various Labs


Thursday, August 22  
Gold Rush Days begin – New Student Orientation
**See separate Gold Rush Days schedule**
8:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. Mustang Movers
All Residence Halls
11:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.   US Bank Campus Cookout
Outside Entrance of Conference Center
12:00 p.m. - 1:15 p.m. SmSUFA Assembly
CH 217
1:30 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. New Faculty IFO Orientation
SS 105  
2:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. Ice Cream Social
Campus Religious Center
4:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. SmSUFA Contingent Faculty Meeting
SS 105



Friday, August 23
8:30 a.m. – 9:30 a.m.  All-University Address
CH 201
10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.  New Student Convocation
RA Facility
11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.    Meet Your Advisor
Various Locations
1:15 p.m. – 2:00 p.m.   College Now Faculty Meeting
Student Center 249
3:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. LGBTQ+ Caucus
Contact Julie Walker ( for location



 Do you prefer a PDF?  Download the Opening Week schedule or the New Faculty Orientation schedule here!


Last Modified: 8/16/19 3:56 PM