Skip to content
Search Icon
SEARCH

GA Contacts

Interested in a graduate assistantship at SMSU?

The graduate assistantship positions, the department or program they serve, and the contact person for applications are listed below. The departments with the openings make the hiring decisions. Review job descriptions (if included) before applying. Fill out the application form and send to the contact person for the position you are interested in.

Access Opportunity Success  (AOS)
2 positions: Currently Filled
Michele Knife Sterner
michele.sterner@smsu.edu  
(507) 537-7382

Alumni Office (Job Description)
Alumni GA position: Filled through May 2024. Accepting applications.
See also: GOLD College
Angela Lee
angela.lee@smsu.edu
(507) 537-6646

Annual Giving (Job Description)
1 position: Currently Filled
Justin Vorbach
Justin.Vorbach@SMSU.edu
(507) 537-7580

Assessment, Accreditation, & Licensure (Job Description)
1 position: Currently Filled
Kala Kopitski & Sonya Vierstraete
kala.kopitski@smsu.edu & sonya.vierstraete@smsu.edu 
(507) 537-6681 & (507) 537-7254

Athletics Administration
2 positions: Currently Filled
Allison Monson
allison.monson@smsu.edu
(507) 537-7133

Athletics Communication
1 position: Currently Filled
Kelly Loft
kelly.loft@smsu.edu  
(507) 537-7177

Athletics - Training
4 positions: Currently Filled
* Must be a Certified Athletic Trainer to apply for this position * 
Amy Schmiesing
amy.schmiesing@smsu.edu
(507) 537-7206

Career Services ( Job Description
1 position: Currently Filled
Melissa Scholten
melissa.scholten@smsu.edu  
(507) 537- 6017

Center for International Education (Job Description)
1 position: Open
1 position: Open
Jamie Leonard
Jamie.Leonard@smsu.edu
(507) 537-6018

Communications & Marketing Office ( Job Description
1 position: Currently Filled, Fall 2022 – Spring 2024. Applications due April 1, 2024.
1 position: Filled Spring 2024 – Fall 2025. Apply in Fall 2025.
Marcy Olson
marcy.olson@smsu.edu
(507) 537-7374

Culinology  (Job Description)
1 position: Currently Filled
Joyce Hwang
joyce.hwang@smsu.edu
(507) 537-6462

Cultural Diversity 
1 position: Currently Filled
Jefferson Lee IV
jefferson.lee@smsu.edu
(507) 537-7285

Deeann Griebel Student Success Center   (Job Description)
1 position: Accepting applications for Fall 2024 
Brittany Krull
brittany.krull@smsu.edu  
(507) 537-7290

Education  (Job Description)
1 position: Open for 2025 to 2026
Tanya McCoss-Yerigan
Tanya.McCoss-Yerigan@smsu.edu
(320) 981-0041

Exercise Science  (Job Description)
1 position: Currently Filled
Kris Cleveland
Kris.Cleveland@smsu.edu
(507) 537-7233

GOLD College (Job Description)
GOLD College GA Position: Accepting applications.
Read more about GOLD College here. 
See also: Alumni Office
Angela Lee
angela.lee@smsu.edu
(507) 537-6646

Instructional Technology Support  (Job Description)
1 position: Currently Filled
Ben Nwachukwu
ben.nwachukwu2@smsu.edu  
(507) 537-6261

Mustang Card Center (Job Description)
1 position: Currently Filled
Jorun Ahmann
jorun.ahmann@smsu.edu  
(507) 537-6573

Nursing  (Job Description)
1 position: Open for Spring
Tracy Hadler or Lindsay Rohlik
tracy.hadler@smsu.edu or lindsay.rohlik@smsu.edu
(507) 537- 6644 or (507) 537-7385

Office of Civic Engagement (Job Description)
1 position: Currently Filled
Melissa Scholten
melissa.scholten@smsu.edu
(507) 537- 6017

Office of Diversity & Inclusion
1 position: Currently Filled
Jefferson Lee IV
jefferson.lee@smsu.edu  
(507) 537-7285

Public Safety  (Job Description)
1 position: Currently Filled
Michael Munford
michael.munford@smsu.edu  
(507) 537-7252

Residence Life (Job Description)
1 position: Open
Jessica Bentley
jessica.bentley@smsu.edu  
(507) 537-6136

School of Graduate Studies (Job Description)
1 position: Currently Filled
Cori Ann Dahlager
coriann.dahlager@smsu.edu  
(507) 537-6819

Student Center – Operations (Job Description)
1 position: Currently Filled
John Alcorn
john.alcorn@smsu.edu
(507) 537-6859

Student Center - Programming  (Job Description)
1 position: Currently Filled
John Alcorn
john.alcorn@smsu.edu  
(507) 537-6859

Technology Resource Center (Job Description)
1 position: Currently filled
Tyler Upton
Tyler.Upton@smsu.edu  
(507) 537-6832

Upward Bound (Job Description)
1 position: Currently Filled
Amy Nemitz
amy.nemitz@smsu.edu  
(507) 537-7376

Last Modified: 2/28/24 9:47 AM | Website Feedback